Ramsay Medal

The Ramsay Medal

The Ramsay Medal is awarded annually at the Annual Meeting (early January) to the postgraduate or recent postgraduate who has been judged to have produced the best publication arising directly from a PhD project in the field of tectonics and structural geology during the previous year. The paper would normally also have been presented as a talk by a post-graduate student at a UK TSG sponsored meeting. The paper should have been written primarily by the student and be based on their own research with no more than normal expected input from supervisors. The prize is awarded at the Annual General Meeting, which traditionally takes place in January. The prize is named after John Ramsay, and the winner receives £200, along with an inscribed medal and a certificate.

Nomination Process

All nominations for the 2019 Ramsay Medal must be received prior to the 1st of December.

Nominations for the Ramsay Medal are welcome all year round. Judging takes place in December, and the winner is announced at the Annual Meeting in January.

If you would like to nominate an individual for the Ramsay medal, please send by email a PDF copy of there paper to the TSG Secretary. The email should also include:

*   A statement confirming that the paper has been written primarily by the student, based on their own postgraduate research, with no more than normal expected input from supervisors.
*   Whether the nominee has completed their PhD, and if so, the date of completion.
*   The contact email address of the nominee.
*   A web link to the publication online, and the full reference.

If you would like to judge the Ramsay Medal (or nominate someone who would make an excellent judge) then please send an email to the TSG Secretary.

Previous winners of the Ramsay Medal are listed on the previous winners page.

John Ramsay Biography

John Ramsay was the instigator of the UK Tectonic Studies Group and organized its first meeting in 1970. He envisaged that it would be centred around an annual general meeting dedicated principally to allowing postgraduate research students the opportunity to present their work. 44 years later the group continues to flourish. John attends the annual meeting as often as he can, and serves as principal judge on the medal panel, an activity he takes most seriously. John spent the first 20 years of his career at Imperial College, where he published his influential textbook ‘Folding and Fracturing of Rocks’.  Subsequently he spent a short time at Leeds University and then the later part of his career at ETH Zurich, not least for its proximity to his beloved Alps. His approach to structural geology has always been firmly grounded in fieldwork and geometrical analysis of structures in particular. For his outstanding research and contributions to the scientific community he has been appointed FRS and CBE, and has received numerous academic awards. For all this he cannot stand pomposity in anybody! He has always been a keen and talented ‘cellist, and in more recent years he has taught music, written a number of chamber music pieces, whilst continuing to carry out fieldwork in the Scottish Highlands. To be awarded the Ramsay Medal is a substantial achievement for a young geoscientist, and to receive it from the hands of the master himself is something very special.

By Prof. Ernie Rutter, University of Manchester

At the TSG Annual Meeting Conference Dinner, Cardiff, 2014

At the TSG Annual Meeting Conference Dinner, Cardiff, 2014

List of Previous Winners