Ramsay Medal – Previous Winners

2019 Prizewinner

Roberto Rizzo (University of Aberdeen)

 Past Recipients

2018: Christopher Harbord (Durham University)  ‘Earthquake nucleation on rough faults’. Geology 45 (10): 931-934, https://doi.org/10.1130/G39181.1.

2017: Andrew Parsons (University of Leeds) ‘Thermo-kinematic evolution of the Annapurna-Dhaulagiri Himalaya, central Nepal: The Composite Orogenic System’. Geochem. Geophys. Geosyst.1715111539, doi:10.1002/2015GC006184.

2016: Catherine Mottram (Open University) Using U-Th-Pb petrochronology to determine rates of ductile thrusting: Time windows into the Main Central Thrust, Sikkim Himalaya. Tectonics. 34. 1355–1374 DOI: 10.1002/2014TC003743

2015: Natalie Farrell (University of Aberdeen) with D. Healy, and C.W. Taylor. 2014. Anisotropy of permeability in faulted porous sandstones. Journal of Structural Geology, 63, 50–67.

DOI: 10.1016/j.jsg.2014.02.008

2014: E Fleming (University of Birmingham) with H. Lovell, C.T.E. Stevenson, M.S. Petronis, D.I. Benn, M.J. Hambrey, and I.J. Fairchild. 2013. Magnetic fabrics in the basal ice of a surge-type glacier. Journal of Geophysical Research: Earth Surface, 118, 2263–2278.

DOI: 10.1002/jgrf.20144

2013: Niko Kampman (Cambridge University) with M. Burnside, Z. K. Shipton, H. J. Chapman, J. A. Nicholl, R. M. Ellam, and M. J. Bickle. 2012. Pulses of carbon dioxide emission from instracrustal faults following climatic warming. Natural Geoscience

DOI: 10.1038/ngeo1451

2012: Richard Walker (Durham University) with R. E. Holdsworth, J. Imber and D. Ellis. 2011. Onshore evidence for progressive changes in rifting directions during continental break-up in the NE Atlantic. Journal of the Geological Society, London, 168, 27–48

DOI: 10.1144/0016-76492010-021

2011: Steven A. F. Smith (Durham University) with R. E. Holdsworth and C. Collettini. 2010. Interactions between low-angle normal faults and plutonism in the upper crust: Insights from the island of Elba, Italy. Geological Society of America Bulletin

DOI: 10.1130/B30200.1

2010: Jiulin Guo (Durham University) with K. W. J. McCaffrey, R. Jones & R. Holdsworth. 2009. The spatial heterogeneity of structures in high porosity sandstones: variation and granularity effects in orientation data. Journal of Structural Geology


2009: Christopher J. Rowan with Andrew P. Roberts. 2008. Widespread remagnetizations and a
new view of Neogene tectonic rotations within the Australia-Pacific plate boundary zone, New Zealand. Journal of Geophysical Research Solid Earth

DOI: 10.1029/2006JB004594

2008: Carl T.E. Stevenson (University of Birmingham) with William H. Owens and Donald H.W. Hutton. 2007. Flow lobes in granite: The determination of magma flow direction in the Trawenagh Bay Granite, northwestern Ireland, using anisotropy of magnetic susceptibility. GSA Bulletin, 119, 1368–1386

DOI: 10.1130/B25970.1

2007: Elisabetta Mariani (University of Manchester) with Katharine H. Brodie and Ernest H. Rutter. 2006. Experimental deformation of muscovite shear zones at high temperatures under hydrothermal conditions and the strength of phyllosilicate-bearing faults in nature. Journal of Structural Geology, 28, 1569–1587

DOI: 10.1016/j.jsg.2006.06.009

2006: Nicola DePaola (Durham University) with R.E. Holdsworth, K.J.W. McCaffrey and M.R. Barchi. 2005. Partitioning transtension: an alternative to basin inversion models. Journal of Structural Geology, 27, 607–625

DOI: 10.1016/j.jsg.2005.01.006

2005: Charles Gumiaux (University of Rennes). 2004. Strain removal within the Hercynian shear belt of Central Brittany (western France): methodology and tectonic implications. Geol. Soc. Spec. pub. 224, 287–306

DOI: 10.1144/GSL.SP.2004.224.01.18

2004: Julian Mecklenburgh (University of Manchester), with E.H. Rutter. 2003. On the rheology of partially molten synthetic granite. Journal of Structural Geology 25, 1575–1585

DOI: 10.1016/50191-8141(03)00014-2

2003: Amir Sagy (Hebrew University, Israel). Dynamic fracture by large extraterrestrial impacts as the origin of shatter cones, Nature.

DOI: 10.1038/nature00903

2002: Zoe Shipton (University of Edinburgh) with P.A.Cowie. 2001. Damage zone and slip-surface evolution over micro-m to km scales in high-porosity Navajo sandstone: Utah, Journal of Structural Geology 23,1825–1844.

DOI: 10.1016/S0191-8141(01)00035-9

2001: Taixu Bai (Stanford University), with D.D. Pollard. 2000. Fracture spacing in layered rocks: a new explanation based on the stress transition. Journal of Structural Geology, 22, 1409–1426.

DOI: 10.1016/S0191-8141(99)00137-6

1993: Ken McCaffrey (Trinity College, Dublin). 1992. Igneous emplacement in a transpressive shear zone: Ox Mountains igneous complex. Journal of the Geological Society of London, 149, 221–235

DOI: 10.1144/gsjgs.149.2.0221